Apple Cinnamon Muffins

What can I say, I’m in an apple mood. It’s that time of year, after all. My mother-in-law brought us some apples from Virginia and apple muffins sounded like the perfect treat to make. Muffins are tricky. They seem like a no-brainer. However, if you aren’t careful, the muffin will turn out dry. That’s not what I want in a muffin. I found a recipe that met my expectations from The Girl Who Ate Everything. She has a super cute blog, and the comments on this recipe were great. I’m always hesitant to try a recipe that doesn’t have reviews (guess most of you are hesitant to try my recipes, eh?).

The recipe didn’t fail. They turned out so fantastic. They were moist on the inside with a crunchy outside. I only changed two small things (well, three, really), but I think they would have turned out great even if I hadn’t changed these.  And since we are close to Halloween, I was able to use cute muffin liners! It’s the small things that make me happy. Enjoy these – you won’t regret making them.

The changes I made were based on personal preference. First, I love cinnamon so I doubled the amount to 2 teaspoons. Second, I used 1 cup granulated sugar and 1 cup turbinado sugar (sugar in the raw). I think this change is what made these muffins so delectable. Usually when I bake with turbinado sugar (and I often do) I will put the sugar in a food processor to make it finer. I didn’t do that here and it added a wonderful hint of crunch. Also, it almost made the apples candy like. So delish. And, since I was on a turbinado kick, I used that for the topping instead of brown sugar, although next time (and there will be a next time) I will use brown sugar to compare. I love brown sugar, so I’m sure it will be great.

Apple Cinnamon Muffins, modified from The Girl Who Ate Everything

Preheat oven to 350F. Prepare two muffin pans with either muffin liners or sprayed with cooking spray. Makes about 24 muffins. My batch made 23!

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup turbinado sugar + more for topping
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup oil
  • 1 TB vanilla
  • 3 cups small diced apples

1. Whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. Set aside.

2. With a handheld mixer or stand mixer, cream the oil, sugars, and vanilla until well combined. Add the eggs one at a time and mix until well combined.

3. Add the flour mixture and mix until just combined – don’t overmix! Lumps are good! Gently fold in the apples. Using a scoop (this was the first time I was able to use my new scoop! It’s the perfect size, 4 TB. Remember, the small things!), fill the muffin cups about 3/4 full. Sprinkle with sugar.

4) Bake until golden, about 25 minutes, depending on your oven. Let cool slightly.

Dig in!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under muffins

Leave a Reply

