Cranberry Pumpkin Cookies. Ah, the holidays!

Oh, pumpkins and cranberries, how I love thee! Every year I look forward to baking with cranberries and pumpkin. They just scream fall (even though where I live the temperatures are anything but fall!) and get me in the holiday spirit.

I was originally going to make pumpkin whoopie pies (that is still on the agenda, but pushed back), but needed something that was going to take less time. I came across this recipe from Allrecipes.com. It has about a million reviews and most were positive, so I decided to give it a shot. I only tweaked it a bit.

And I’m so glad I did. These were awesome. Still are, since I have some left in my freezer.

Once again, I used part turbinado sugar. I really think that adds the perfect touch. And, fresh, not dried, cranberries are essential here. They add a beautifully vibrant color and a tangy bite. I don’t think dried cranberries would have the same effect, but feel free to try. Cranberries freeze very well, so I stock up this time of year since they are impossible to find other times.

I also wanted some white chocolate in the mix. I love cranberries and white chocolate. I did a few cookies with white chocolate chips and the rest with a white chocolate glaze. Overall, the glazed ones got better reviews. My only issue was the glaze was pretty sticky, but hey, that’s a minor sacrifice for a yummy cookie, right? Also, I used Guittard white chocolate. I love Guittard!

These cookies turned out very moist, and very cake-like, so if that’s not your thing in a cookie, you may not like these. But I doubt it. You will love them.

Cranberry Pumpkin Cookies with White Chocolate Glaze

modified from AllRecipes

  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulate sugar
  • 1/2 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 TB orange zest
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 1/4 cups AP flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup fresh cranberries, pulsed in the food processor. Don’t puree!

1. Preheat the oven to 375F.

2. Cream the butter, sugars, orange zest, and vanilla until light and fluffy, about five minutes.

3. Add the egg. Mix completely.

4. Add the pumpkin puree and mix completely. Remember to scrape the sides of the bowl.

5. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a separate bowl.

6. Slowly add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture. Mix until just combined. Don’t overmix!

7. Gently fold in the cranberries.

8. Scoop the cookies onto a baking sheet lined with parchment or a silpat. These won’t spread much at all.

9. Bake for about 10 to 12 minutes, or until slightly golden.

Meanwhile, make the glaze.

Melt 2 ounces of white chocolate with about 3 TB of milk (you may need to add more or less, depending on how you want your glaze). Add enough powered sugar until you get the consistency you want. Again, this will be a personal preference. I wanted my glaze pretty thin, you may want yours thicker.

Dip each cookie into the glaze. Let dry, and devour. These cookies go especially well with a cup of coffee on a cool, fall morning!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

