Chocoholics Beware: Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies

I’ll be the first to admit I am 100% addicted to chocolate. I must have some every day, whether it be in the form of a delicious dessert or simply just a handful of my beloved Guittard chocolate chips. So imagine my delight when I found this recipe for Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies.

First, however, I need to discuss my new favorite book, Bon Appetit Desserts, given to me as a birthday gift from a dear friend. This book will now be referred to as “My Bible”. It is an astounding 689 pages full of baking instruction, equipment and techniques, and recipes ranging from cakes all the way to candy. I’m almost considering throwing out my other baking books because everything I need seems to be in this one book. (Of course I won’t do that, since I love my cookbooks.) And what a steal at only $25 on Amazon. That comes to about three cents per page. Well worth your money.

Back to the cookies! I was looking for a new cookie and one that was fairly easy to make. Chocolate is always a bonus too. These satisfy both of those requirements. The dough ends up being almost like truffles, because there is no flour (gluten free!) and no butter or egg yolks (cholesterol free!). I was very curious as to how they would turn out with no butter or flour. Turns out, pretty amazing! They are very rich and just one will satisfy your sweet tooth. Perhaps then we could also call them “Diet Friendly”?

The recipe is very easy and I did not modify it at all, which is on page 539 of the book.

  • 1 1/2 cups bittersweet chocolate, about 9 ounces, divided
  • 3 large egg whites, room temperature
  • 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar, divided
  • 1/2 cup natural unsweetened cocoa powder (not dutch process)
  • 1 TB cornstarch
  • 1/4 Tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 400F. Line two baking sheets with parchment or silpat. Melt 1 cup chocolate chips in glass bowl in microwave, stirring twice, about 2 minutes. Watch carefully to keep from burning.  Let cool slightly.

Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites in a large bowl (or use stand mixer) until soft peaks form. Gradually beat in 1 cup powdered sugar. Continue beating until mixture resembles soft marshmallow cream (soft meringue). Whisk 1 cup powdered sugar, cocoa powder (sift first!), cornstarch, and salt in a medium bowl. On low speed, beat dry ingredients into meringue. Stir in lukewarm chocolate and remaining 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Dough will become very stiff.

Place remaining 1/2 cup powdered sugar in small bowl. Using a scoop, roll 1 tablespoon of dough into a ball; roll in powdered sugar, coating thickly. Place on prepared sheet, repeat with remaining dough. Cookies will spread, but not much. Bake cookies until puffed and tops crack, about 10 minutes. Cool on sheets on racks 10 minutes. Transfer to racks and cool completely.

Then pour yourself a glass of milk and enjoy!

8 Comments

Filed under Cookies

8 responses to “Chocoholics Beware: Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Chocoholics Beware: Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies | Let's Talk Cookies -- Topsy.com

  2. Oh yeah I need cookies and milk. Thanks so much, these are going to be a very nice afternoon treat.

  3. Mmmm, choc -o-late, choc-oo-late, choc-ooo-late. The start of a school speech about my issues. Latest issue, Oaxacan chocolate, came back with 5 pounds of the stuff and it only lasted a week

  4. Its almost too good to be true, I cant wait to try this.
    I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this chocolate widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about recipes for chocolate,Thanks!

  5. I am a well known chocoholic. These are perfect for me!

Leave a Reply

