An introduction to Earth Fare plus a $50 gift card giveaway!

Note: Contest is over. Please see the bottom for the winner!

As I mentioned in a previous post, we recently moved from the Southwest US to the Southeast.  I was very set in my ways in the Southwest with Sprouts and Trader Joe’s. I was devastated that my new location had neither of these stores and worried that grocery shopping would never be the same again.

Then I met Earth Fare.

What is Earth Fare, you ask? It’s like a small Whole Foods, which makes it more my style. I tend to get lost in the giant Super Markets that have become America (Wal-mart, Publix, Safeway, etc). So much food that isn’t really food, but rather chemical concoctions made to look like food and fool us. I don’t need any of that nonsense. Now, don’t get me wrong, Whole Foods is a great store with great products. But it is big, too big for me.

Earth Fare is perfect for your weekly grocery shopping. It has an excellent produce section, most of which is local and/or organic.  They have a bulk section for grains, nuts, and legumes.  Also in the bulk section is freshly roasted coffee, with the roast date. A must for any coffee lover. And for the tea lovers, an entire wall of tea, plus a bulk tea section. And, to my delight, an excellent selection of King Arthur Flour products, including bread flour, AP flour, and cake flour, all at prices comparable to places like Publix, and even a good supply of their gluten free products! Finally, my most favorite part on the grocery side: the cheese section and olive bar. Right next to the great wine selection. It’s my little slice of heaven! (You may think I only do desserts but I am a huge fan of wine and food that compliments wine.) This is just a sample. They also have a huge herbal remedy section, dry goods, a meat counter, dairy (aside from the speciality cheese section), olive oils, etc. I’m wondering how they cram so much good stuff into a little store!

Now, if all that wasn’t enough, they also have an excellent deli, salad bar, and bakery section. They’ve got who knows how many hot foods to chose from, paninis, and I don’t even know where to start with their bakery section! Great place to pick up a healthy dinner on the run, or to sit and enjoy breakfast.

Oh, and I almost forgot the most important part. Earth Fare does not sell anything with high fructose corn syrup (sorry, don’t believe those corn commercials sayings sugar is sugar!), artificial sweeteners or preservatives, animal by-products, and a really long list of bad, artificial things that you don’t want in your body. You can find that list here. If you eat like I do, you avoid these kinds of products which is very hard to do if you shop at places like Wal-mart or other gigantic stores. If you’ve never looked at the ingredients of the items you are buying, give it a shot. You will be blown away. Bread does not need 50 ingredients. Pasta doesn’t need anything but flour, eggs, and water. Yogurt doesn’t need a list of 20 things I can’t pronounce! We need real food for our bodies. Earth Fare makes that easy. Now to hop off my soap box.

As you can see, I like Earth Fare. So much so I think you should give it a try. For the awesome $50 gift card giveaway, tell me why eating healthy is important to you and what you’ve done to make changes in your life in the comment section.

Rules:

1. You must live within 100 miles of an Earth Fare.

2. You must make a comment in the comment section regarding healthy eating.

3. Contest ends on Sunday, February 27, 2011 at 11:59pm.

4. Winner will be chosen at random and announced Monday, February 28, 2011.

Good luck, and happy shopping!

Contest is over!

Thanks to Random.org, the winner is:

Hoppy!

Congrats and please email me at lets.talk.cookies @ gmail.com to claim your prize!

Thanks to everyone who entered – really great responses and so glad to see everyone making an effort to be healthy and support their local Earth Fare! Keep working towards a healthier you!

21 Comments

Filed under giveaway

21 responses to “An introduction to Earth Fare plus a $50 gift card giveaway!

  1. I was pleasantly surprised after going to Earth Fare’s site to find that I do live near several. I have been to whole foods a lot but not Earth Fare. I am trying to eat more healthy this year. I am tired of feeling bad all the time.

  2. I’ve been eating a lot healthier since I started running more than I ever had. Just was natural, already pushing my body so I was craving better things for my body. And a good friend of mine helped me eat less meat & I’ve enjoyed how my body has responded to that too 🙂

  3. Pingback: For Those Who Enjoy a Good Contest! « Two Scientists Experimenting in the Kitchen

  4. Donna

    Eating healthy is important to me because of my family’s health history. Both my parents died young of heart disease and my mother was diebetic. I am in my late 40’s and just recently decided that enough was enough. I am overweight and well on my way to becoming a statistic like my parents. About a month ago I decided to give veganism a try. The difference in the way I feel is amazing! I have discovered that the Earth Fare in my town makes being vegan so effortless because they have such a great selection. The website has lots of valuable information, too. I look forward to shopping more at Earth Fare.

  5. Erin H.

    We’ve recently started a nutrition journey. Eating for nutrition rather than to fill our bellies as we both deal with weight issues as well as a tendency to be sedentary. As such, we have started grinding our own grains and making our own bread products. We have also cut back our refined sugar and HFCS intake. It is imperative that we get a handle on it now so our young children don’t grow up with the same bad habits. Having an Earth Fare open last week in town will sure to help us in our journey, making products much more accessible. I’m excited of the possibilities.

  6. Jamison Combs

    I’ve been shopping at Earth Fare since June 2010. Since making the switch to a healthy, organic diet and adding consistent exercise to my routine, I’ve dropped 100lbs in just 7 months. Not only am I thinner, I’m also no longer taking lots of medications and I’m sleeping at night. I look and feel 100% better.

  7. Diane

    My journey to healthy eating started when my doctor wanted to prescribe cholesterol lowering medication. I decided to try changing my diet first. I now eat mainly plant based whole foods. I live in Tallahassee where Earth Fare opened in December of last year. It has been a great addition to our city!

  8. Jessica

    After seeing Food, Inc. last spring, I have completely changed my eating habits. I don’t know why it took a documentary for me to “get” that processed foods are pretty much awful for you, but it jolted me into realizing that buying cheap overly-processed foods only means spending more at the doctor’s office. I used to shop at a supermarket (and used to despise grocery store trips)…until I discovered Earth Fare. I’ve always liked Whole Foods, but I agree that it’s too large for me. Earth Fare is just the right size and has absolutely everything I need. The people there are always incredibly nice and helpful…plus they always thank me for bringing my own bags! The supermarket never did that. I am now very conscious of what goes in my body and actually look forward to my trips to Earth Fare!

  9. Dorothy

    Eating healthy is a priority as I’ve just entered my 6th decade of life. I feel better, have more energy and a more positive attitude with less ailments. Planning healthier meals and changing my grocery shopping habits have contributed to my new phase of life, retirement!!!

  10. About a year ago I woke up and said, “Hey! Who says it’s OK to be eating so many artificial flavors and colors?” I had not put a lot of thought into what I was eating nor what I was feeding my family. I went about my food shopping concerned with a number of other factors such as price, convenience, kid-appeal, but never did I take much stock in wether it was HEALTHY for us or not. Now I think about it all the time and throughout this past year we have made numberous changes with the foods we buy such as switching to organic milk (it’s sooooo good anyway!) as well as many other organic foods, watching the amount of suger we intake and cutting way back on products using articicial flavors and colors. While we don’t have a Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods in close proximity to us, we are very grateful to have an Earth Fare very close to us. It’s become very important to me what I put in my body as well as that of my family’s and having an Eath Fare makes it alot easier for us to make those healthy choices!

  11. Faith McDonald

    Just discovered Earth Fare about 25 minutes away from where I live. Love it! I really appreciate that my 4 year old can choose any snacks in the store and I don’t have to worry about unhealthy ingredients! Earth Fare helps us to eat more healthy!

  12. Christina

    I had never heard of Earth Fare before I moved to this area but I’m so glad that one is nearby. Produce is fresh, the products are great, and most importantly, the people are friendly & helpful. I don’t get the same kind of customer service at Whole Foods. I started eating healthier to help maintain my weight and I’m slowly trying to get my husband on board too. The kids have to eat what’s put in front of them! (BTW, their fresh ground Honey Roasted peanut butter is amazing – I buy some everytime I’m there.)

  13. Eating healthy is not only important for me as a person but for the people who grow my food. I don’t want GMO or pesticides in my food because it’s bad for me but also because it’s damaging the health of farmers and the health of our soils.
    At home we eat vegetarian, if we were to eat meat it would have to be local and grass fed. I aim for as much local produce as I can (harder during winter), organic and whole foods. I take pleasure in baking from scratch and knowing what ingredients are in there.

  14. Carlee

    I was excited when an Earth Fare opened 3 minutes from where I live 2 years ago. It makes it really easy and convenient to get healthy, organic breads, produce, and treats like cookies, beet salad, or Oi Ocha dark green tea. Pretty sure the proximity of that Earth Fare to my house has contributed positively to my health.

  15. Lisa

    I love Earth Fare for all the reasons you posted above. You can walk in and pick up anything and know it is safe for your family. My son is dye free and I buy everthing he eats from there. Yes their toaster pastry and gummy snacks are more but they are worth every penny for my child to not be filled with any extra junk. Even get his vitamins there. I love Earth Fare!!

  16. Brittany martin

    We have a family of 5 and I am trying to (slowly) introduce the idea that care for our bodies is internal as well as external. We struggle at mealtimes with little people who don’t want anything to eat unless it is in cartoon form or covered in plastic wrap. My DH and I are trying to adjust our own eating habits (we love a good snack) to show the kiddos it is still yummy and filling to eat “real” foods. Our Earth Fare just opened in town last week and I am hoping the fun delivery of self-serve products and colorful displays will be the edge I need to get my little people to try new things.

  17. I love Earth Fare! We just got one a week ago, and I’ve been three times already!

    I am trying to eat healthy to be healthy. I stopped drinking soft drinks about a month ago – regular and diet. Tired of putting all that fake stuff in my body! Feeling great!

  18. Kellie

    Healthy eating was always a foreign concept to me…food is food right? I wasn’t eating fast food, but I was eating highly processed food. Then my husband and I moved to California and a whole new world opened up. At first, I balked at “locally grown organic food” because really, what does that even mean? I can find that stuff at any grocery store, can’t I? Then one day my friend convinced me to accompany her to our local farmer’s market; I’ve been hooked ever since. Healthy eating is a lifestyle change and it’s one both my husband and I are glad we did. We’ve always loved food but now we know not all food is created equal .

  19. Jaycee Booth

    We are excited that Earth Fare is here! So happy Montgomery is coming around in healthier food choices!!

  20. As an Earth Fare employee, thank you for all your great comments about our company! I work at the Raleigh, NC location and feel blessed to work and shop with others who share the same passion for healthy food as what I do.

    And here’s a shameless plug for Earth Fare: Every Thursday night is Family Dinner Night (yes, at every location!). Between 4 – 8 pm, when an adult purchases a meal for $5 at one of the food service stations*, they can feed up to six children for free. Yes, you read that right… FREE! The kids get to pick their own entree, side dish, snack and beverage from our Itty Bitty Bite menu… and trust me, everything on the menu is deeeelicious!

    *deli, rotisserie chicken, hot bar/salad bar, sushi, sandwich case and pizza case (if applicable).

    Please ask any team member at your local store if you have questions or feel free to e-mail me at RAL140Community@earthfare.com

    Welcome home!

    Laurie
    Community Relations Coordinator
    Earth Fare – Raleigh

Leave a Reply

