The “Can’t Eat Just One” Lemon Sugar Cookie

It’s spring time. Spring time screams for refreshing tastes, even in our cookies. Enter the Lemon Sugar Cookie. I don’ t know what it is about these cookies that makes them so good. I challenge you to eat just one! They are light, airy, lemony, and downright delicious.

And they are so fast to make. Like an hour, tops, including bake time. Can’t beat that, right? I got this recipe from culinary school, so I’m not sure of the original source. This cookie was also my first hands on baking test (and I got an A, in case you were wondering. I know you were!). And, these are not your traditional slice and bake type sugar cookies. These are drop cookies (so please don’t use this recipe for cut out cookies. It won’t work!) I used a scoop that was 1 1/2 TB. These would be perfect for a spring time picnic. I hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

Lemon Sugar Cookies

Yield: about 2 dozen

  • 8 oz butter (2 sticks) room temp
  • 7 oz sugar (just under 1 cup)
  • 1 TB Brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 TB lemon zest
  • 1 egg, room temp
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 10 oz flour (about 1 1/4 cups)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • Additional 1 cup sugar as needed for rolling

1. Preheat oven to 375F.

2. Cream together the butter, sugars, salt, and zest in a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment at medium speed for 5 minutes. Set a timer – the 5 minutes is very important to the fluffiness of the cookie!

3. Add the egg and vanilla. Mix until combined.

4. Whisk the flour and baking powder. Add to wet mixture and mix until combined. Careful not to overmix.

5. Line two sheet pans with silpat or parchment. Scoop cookies and roll in sugar. Place onto sheet pan and chill for about 10 minutes. Then flatten cookies slightly. Using a glass or ramekin is the easiest way.

6. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until slightly golden on the edges. Watch carefully – they can overcook quickly!

7. Let cool on rack.

8. Eat.

10 Comments

Filed under Cookies

10 responses to “The “Can’t Eat Just One” Lemon Sugar Cookie

  1. runningthroughmydreams

    Hi, I was wondering if you’d tell me what a ‘cup’ measurement is (grams or oz’s?) and ‘TB’ too? (Never heard of these before :S)
    šŸ™‚ Thanks – I really want to try making these!!
    Zx

  2. Pingback: Oh, For Pete’s Sake « Oh My Words!

  3. dEb

    mmmmmmm sounds wonderful! I can’t wait to make lemon cookies! Not to be critical but merely helpful, might I point to the baking powder and tell you that you did not add the amount half a teaspoon? Is that it? Good thanks šŸ˜‰

  4. Hi Tara! I recently linked to this recipe on my blog so I hope you have a lot of interested cooks/visitors!
    I wanted to tell you, however, that I think the ingredients/proportions might be a little off. When I made these cookies last week, I have to confess that I sort of merged the recipe with another one that I had. Today I made them again, but this time stuck to your recipe exactly. The cookies came out flat as pancakes (but still delicious). I think there ought to be baking soda in the cookies, and possibly more flour. Any thoughts?

    • oh, and I also meant to say I love your blog and all the beautiful photos!

    • Hi there! The recipe is correct….the key to the fluffiness is the creaming stage – five minutes is very important. Also, did you weigh your ingredients? I’m just estimating the cups of flour but the recipe I have is all in ounces so that may cause issues transferring to cups. Make sure you “fluff” your flour before measuring if you aren’t weighing. They should be a light, airy sugar cookie. Thanks so much for linking my blog!

      • Hmmm I think I will have to try it again, keeping all of your advice in mind. Maybe it was the creaming stage….
        Of course, this is an excellent excuse for more baking šŸ™‚
        Thanks for your help!

Leave a Reply

