Homemade Oreos. Yep, just like the real thing. Only better.

My dear friend challenged us to make homemade oreos. I was worried it couldn’t be done. It couldn’t just taste like an oreo, it had to have the same texture as well. Crunchy cookie, sweet center.

So I set about searching that big internet for oreo recipes.  I found there are two that are most common. This one from Smitten Kitchen and one that is apparently from Thomas Keller. I knew the one from Smitten would be delish, her blog never fails me, but the cookie was chewy. That wasn’t what I was looking for. And the filling had shortening. I despise shortening! So, I went with the Thomas Keller recipe. I was a bit unsure of the filling, since it was basically a white chocolate ganache. That didn’t sound too oreo-y to me, but hey, it might be good, right?

It was good, but it was no oreo. This is the recipe that you will find all over right now claiming to be just like the real thing. It sort of is, but the filling is very obviously not an oreo.  If you don’t like white chocolate, you won’t like this.

The reject cookie. Notice the off-white center? But, we couldn’t let them go to waste and had to eat them.

The cookie part is dead on. If you have the secret ingredient that is: Black Cocoa. That wasn’t in the original recipe but I happened to have some since I like to try new ingredients from KAF.  If you are curious about the differences in all these cocoas, check out this link from David Lebovitz. If you can’t get KAF’s Black Cocoa, try Hershey’s Special Dark.

Back to the cookies. The cookie part is perfect. The filing was not. So I ventured back to Smitten’s filling, still cringing at the thought of using shortening, but at the same time realizing butter would leave me with melting cookies (insert very large sigh here). I headed to Earth Fare and saw they sold Organic Shortening, with just one ingredient, Palm Oil. Ok, still not the greatest ingredient, but in the name of Oreos, sacrifices must be made! And it worked. The filling tasted just like an Oreo.

The “sort of” healthier shortening. 

Now for the semi-bad news: the cookies aren’t exactly quick and easy to make. Ok, the dough is easy, but you will work up a bit of a sweat rolling these thin. But again, in the name of Oreos, sacrifices. Enjoy making this special treat, and don’t forget the milk.

Chocolate Wafer Cookie (Adapted from here)

  • 1 1/2 cups + 3 TB AP Flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar + 1 TB
  • 1/2 cup Dutch process cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup + 1 TB Black cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 15 TB unsalted butter, cubed, and chilled

Preheat oven to 350F.

Combine the flour, sugar, cocoa powders, baking soda, and salt in a mixer. On low, add the butter a few pieces at a time. Mix until dough comes together. This will take a long time, around 10 minutes. You will think you did something wrong, but just wait, it will happen!

Form dough into a ball and divide in half. Chill. Once chilled, take half out at a time and roll to 1/8″ if you can, I had trouble with that thin and did 1/4″. It made my life easier and the cookie still turned out great.

Using a cookie cutter that is under 2″ (or bigger, it’s up to you), cut out cookies and place on baking sheet. Bake until done, about 8 to 10 minutes depending on your oven and the size of your cookie.

Let cool completely before filling.

Filling from Smitten

  • 1/2 stick room temp butter
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 2 cups sifted confectioners sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Beat until light and fluffy, which will take some effort. It will be very dry and you will again think you’ve done something wrong. Fear not, it will happen and you will soon be eating cookies that taste like oreos, but are so much better.

Take the filling and put into a piping bag (or a plastic baggie) and pipe a small amount of filling onto half the cookies. The filling is stiff, so prepare to use those muscles again. The press another cookie on top and there you have it. Oreos.


25 Comments

Filed under Cookies

25 responses to “Homemade Oreos. Yep, just like the real thing. Only better.

  1. I love your honest writing style, it means i could make this recipe with confidence 🙂 Your cookies look so perfect, well worth the effort i think!

  2. black cocoa powder. I’ve never heard of it. I shall keep my eyes open for them when I’m out and about. Thank your or sharing the recipe

  3. Wow, it looks like you nailed it! I’ve seen quite a few recipes for homemade oreos, but the pictures look nothing like an oreo. But yours do! I’m definitely ready to try making these now!

  4. Isn’t the job of a food blogger kind of amazing? Experimenting with Oreos. What could be better than that?

  5. I am going to have to try these. I have always wondered if the “homemade Oreo” recipes actually taste like Oreos, now I have my answer. Thanks for doing the testing and coming up with the perfect formula.

  6. darci

    I use the smitten kitchen recipe but with less sugar in the cookie and only butter in the filling. YUM-O!

    • Can’t go wrong with Smitten! I do want to try the cookie recipe next time, looks much easier than this one. And in the winter, it’s butter all the way!

  7. Hanne

    Would it be possible to put the cookie dough through a pasta roller to get it thinned out?

    • Well, you could try but I don’t think it would work. Pasta dough and cookie dough are pretty different when it comes to texture. I don’t think the cookie dough would stand up to the roller. If you do try and it works, please let me know!

      • Hanne

        I thought it might work because the in the pictures, the dough looks really stiff, like the dough when I make egg noodles. I’ll have to look and see if I can find the Black Cocoa. I know I’ve seen the Hershey’s Special Dark in the stores. Thanks!

  8. Christine

    I have yet to make homemade Oreos and was torn on which of these exact two recipes to make! Then I saw your comment about no shortening (I’m the same way) but I had a couple recipes that had to (HAD to) so I was like what to do? In the middle of your post I wanted to jump down to comment to say, “Organic shortening! Earth Fare has it!” But you beat me to it LOL. So your version it is. 😉

  9. simplybudgeted

    Yum! These look so good!

  10. Heather

    I’m SOOO glad to have stumbled upon your recipe!! I love the cookie part of Oreos, but I don’t like the filling (I buy a packet, separate them all, scrape the filling into the bin and put the halves in the biscuit tin *blush* don’t judge me).
    I’ve never heard of black cocoa either, I’m not sure if it’s available in the UK
    😦 I’ll probably have to order it online.
    Thanks a bunch, from Heather (England)

    • Yay! You’ll love this then! I imagine you’d be able to find Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa over there, it should be quite close to black cocoa. I don’t think King Arthur ships to the UK (but they should!) and that has been the only place I’ve found black cocoa. Do let me know if you find it elsewhere online so I can add it on here for others. Enjoy the cookies!

  11. Pingback: Your Favorite Childhood Snacks Made At Home | taste station blog

  12. Deniz

    looks great making it now as for the baking part.. What’s the oven temperature??

  13. Pingback: The time I made Oreos « Cookies & Heels

  14. I have not yet made the oreos but there sure do look yummy and I will have a go at making them with your recipe one day 😀

  15. These look waaaaayyy better then the real deal! What a winning recipe!

Leave a Reply

