Day 11 of Baker’s Dozen: Sugared Cranberries

Only a few more days till Christmas! I hope you are all enjoying the season and aren’t getting too frazzled by last minute shopping and baking. If you are, this is the easiest holiday treat yet! Takes about 10 minutes hands on time. Can’t beat that right?

This is the first year I’ve seen sugared cranberries, but I can tell you that I will be making them every year now! They are so pretty and really tasty. Tangy and sweet with a burst in your mouth.

From my research I found the original recipe came from Cooking Light, but you can adjust this recipe to your liking and it is very easy to make more or less. Just follow the 1:1:1 ratio and add whatever additional spices you have! I made two cups, so I used 2 cups water, 2 cups sugar, and 2 cups cranberries. I also added a cinnamon stick and a vanilla bean for extra spice. But you can omit the extras or add different extras. Totally up to you! I love recipes like this.

These will make great holiday gifts and/or a great addition to your holiday spread with very effort. Enjoy!

Sugared Cranberries

Adapted from Cooking Light

Yield: 2 cups

Difficulty: Very easy!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups fresh cranberries or frozen, thawed
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cinnamon stick (optional)
  • 1 vanilla bean (optional)
  • 1/3 cup additional sugar for coating

Directions

1. In a sauce pan dissolve the water and sugar to make a simple syrup over medium low heat. Add spices if using. Let syrup cool.

2. Rinse cranberries and place in bowl. Once syrup is cool (if it is too warm the cranberries may burst) pour over cranberries. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

3. The next day, strain the cranberries. You can reserve the simple syrup for another use, like using in coffee or tea. (Or putting on a sponge cake!). Place a tablespoon of sugar at a time in a bowl and a few cranberries. Toss to coat and place on sheet pan to dry. Repeat the process until all cranberries are coated. You can sprinkle more sugar over the cranberries if it looks like they need more. Let dry a couple of hours and then store in an airtight container.

1 Comment

Filed under candy

One response to “Day 11 of Baker’s Dozen: Sugared Cranberries

  1. Okay dear, these are RIDICULOUS! Often your posts look divine but I’m too chicken to try them interrupted with my 3 and 1 year olds. But, I saw this post and thought it the perfect use for the bag of cranberries in my fridge that I bought because I strangely thought my husband said he liked to eat them plain (silly me). Let’s just say he REALLY likes them this way! I mistakenly tasted one before letting the sugar dry and wasn’t sold. Home after church a few hours later and I COULDN’T STOP EATING THEM!!!!! I even neglected the FUDGE on my counter and opted for a few crunchy, sweet, burst of flavor in your mouth sugared cranberries over and over again throughout the day. Even now, ready for bed, I can hardly resist going to the kitchen to open the jar for more! Ridiculous! Heaven help me if I ever make one of your more decadent recipes!!!!!!! These will be on regular rotation FOR SURE!!!

Leave a Reply

