Day 13 of Baker’s Dozen: Easy Panettone

We did it. We made it to the last day of the Baker’s Dozen. Tomorrow is Christmas Eve. I know many organizations are off from work today, getting a head start on the holiday weekend. I hope you are all finished with your shopping and baking and can now sit back and enjoy the holiday season with your loved ones.

This is the easy version of Panettone, which is an Italian fruitcake. You will see it in stores generally in the blue boxes. I’ve never bought one of those. I worry how dry and old they may be. And the whole preservative thing (obviously it has something in it if it is shelf stable for months!) Which is probably one of the big reasons it is commonly turned into French Toast (which will be my Sunday morning brunch. Can’t wait). But the traditional way to make panettone is a very long and tedious process. And really, who has time for long and tedious this month? Not me.

After all the baking I’ve done this month, I needed the easy version.  King Arthur Flour has the easy version and it was delicious. You’ll notice that there’s a hole in my panettone. Traditional panettone is baked high with no hole, which makes for a more difficult baking process.Remember, we need easy right now.

I followed their recipe almost exactly, except that I let my biga rise for almost 24 hours  and then I tossed my dried fruit in a little rum for about 30 minutes before adding it to the dough. And that’s it.  They did such a great job with the instructions that I’m just going to give you the link. You can still make it in time for Christmas Brunch and you won’t regret it. After all your hard work this month, you deserve a treat, don’t you think? Now you can have your cake and eat it too.

King Arthur Flour American Style Panettone

Be sure to read the tips right below the ingredient list.

Warmest wishes to you and yours! Happy Holidays!

8 Comments

Filed under bread, cake

8 responses to “Day 13 of Baker’s Dozen: Easy Panettone

  1. This photo alone has convinced me to buy King Arthur flour! So beautiful!!!

    Happy Holidays & Warm Wishes for a Peaceful & Prosperous 2012

  2. Panettone is one of my favorites….especially slathered with butter! 🙂 Happy Baking! ~Mel @ KAF

  3. Gonna try this recipe!!! Looks yummy!!!

  4. I used this recipe for my first attempt at Panettone. I gave it to my mother as a gift. She loves panettone and she loved this recipe. Thanks!

  5. Love King Arthur! I just recently made homemade bagels with King Arthur’s bread flour, and they turned out perfect. This looks delicious, too.

  6. Looks super good. Now I just created something similar but did not post the picture yet. My recipe has only paleo ingredients so the pastry is more thick, for me it is hard to find the best substitute for baking powder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

